Wetherby A Crowned HDTL Division 4 Champions

Wetherby A celebrated lifting the HDTL Division 4 crown with a crushing victory over Thirsk 82-26 this evening. With the visitors missing a few regulars the hosts were in no mood to miss this golden opportunity and with a strong six on show were able to run out cosy winners. It was a great team effort with Richard Franks and Fiona Chantrey bagging 27 points along with Philip Longstaff and Louise Beasley whilst Jonathan Tyler and Christina Plant finished one ahead with 28.

Congratulations to Louise Beasley, Jonathan Tyler, Mike Triffitt, Bradley Triffitt, Philip Longstaff, Fiona Chantrey, Christina Plant and captain Richard Franks for their efforts in helping Wetherby A to the title.

It was a shame the HDTL didn’t offer promotion this season but hopefully the team can get a chance to confirm their supremacy next summer when the league are hoping a return to normal is possible. Many thanks to the HDTL for operating a successful season and Wetherby are very grateful to their undoubted efforts with our own members Mike Butterworth, Mike and Bradley Triffitt playing influential roles on that committee.

A big thanks to new captain Richard Franks for leading the team to glory and representing the club well this term and with this been a one off season the trophy will be kept by Wetherby as a record of their great achievement.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s