Wetherby A Crowned Champions

Wetherby A were crowned champions of the HDTL Division 4 last night following a convincing success over Thirsk B 85-23 at Castlegarth. It was an exact repeat score line of their previous home match when Bedale were disposed of which had confirmed promotion. Thirsk are facing certain relegation now but I suspect will be happy to drop as they have struggled this term.

A bright evening and despite the usual frustrating winds, conditions were pretty good.

Bradley Triffitt has been involved with his ‘A’ levels this term but has still found time to play an influential role and his partnership with Louise Beasley is one of the strongest at this level. Once more the duo were in irresistible form with Triffitt content to keep rallies alive with some great court coverage whilst Beasley showed her strength with some fine net play which saw many smashes dispatched with ferocity. An excellent 33 ensured Wetherby were never in danger of losing here.

With Fiona Chantrey resting along with Jonathan Tyler it meant their regular partners Richard Franks and Christina Plant teamed up and they looked at ease playing with confidence throughout. Not many can match Christina’s serve and Richard is a constant menace as he covers every inch of the court and never refuses to buckle. A fine 26 from the pair contributed to a big total.

Philip Longstaff has proved a very useful player this season and his flourishing partnership with newcomer Laura Delafield has been a great benefit to the team. Phil’s no-nonsense approach has seen him enjoy a consistent campaign whilst Laura continues to improve and her competitive spirit and nature means opponents can never rest. A superb 26 once more showed what great depth the A team have .

An enjoyable tea afterwards whilst the team celebrated and a big thanks to Thirsk for their great sportsmanship and appreciation which ensured a great send off. Two matches remain and Wetherby will play a crucial role in both promotion and relegation in the section. A tough looking visit to Dacre next with the hosts looking to secure runners up spot and with it promotion before a final day visit from Knaresborough ,who are battling with Harlow to avoid joining Thirsk in Division 5 next year. Wetherby will be looking to complete a perfect season with twelve consecutive victories so certainly won’t be taking the foot off the accelerator but at least for now can enjoy their title success.

Congratulations to Philip Longstaff, Louise Beasley,captain Richard Franks, Laura Delafield, Bradley Triffitt and Christina Plant for another solid performance.

Two matches remain with Wetherby looking to achieve a perfect 12 victories.
Thanks to all the eleven players who have contributed to this seasons success. Its probably a measure of that success that so few players have been needed and the 8 strong squad have covered the majority of fixtures allowing partnerships to blossom which proved a big advantage over opponents.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s